Skip navigation

So I mentioned before the inability of N900 to import old SMS from previous Nokia phones, and I will save the world by writing the ultimate Old SMS importer/reader 🙂

First things first, these are the project specs that I hope to accomplish:

Phase 1:

  • Inbox and Sent messages
  • Import SMS csv files
  • Old View (messages are represented by the their sender in inbox/ receiver in sent, ordered according to date of arrival, just like ordinary messaging before Nokia Conversations)
  • Options like forward, delete
  • Show contact card by tapping contact

Phase 2:

  • Mimicking the look and feel of Nokia Conversations
  • Favorites

Phase 3:

  • Find in messages
  • Filter by contact names
  • Sort

Phase 4:

  • Import directly from other phones

What I’ve done:

I can now show the received SMS list (kinetic scrolling with finger, I like that!), and tapping the sender displays his message. My next step now is associate phone numbers with contacts. I will also take a look at the Qt animation framework.

I’ve submitted the project on Maemo Garage and it has been approved in exactly 2 minutes! Now I will now explore maemo garage. Keep an eye on my project’s page: http://retroconv.garage.maemo.org 😉

2 Trackbacks/Pingbacks

  1. […] Just Another Developer's Blog Just another WordPress.com weblog About « Project Retro Conversations […]

  2. By retroconv 0.5.3-1 | My blog on 23 Apr 2015 at 8:41 pm

    […] a maintainer of  maemo extras repository. I also released and uploaded the the first version of Retro Conversations to extras-devel. I decided to do it early so as to have some credit in Open Source world when my […]

Leave a Reply

